Party Favorite Dips! (Guacamole * Zesty Lemon & Basil Hummus * Roasted Eggplant & Garlic Dip)

Guacamole –

IMG_9105

If I was savvy, I would say that I created this post because, “Tomorrow is Cinco De Mayo and what a perfect time to share with all of you a delicious guacamole recipe…” But I’m not that quick and I didn’t realize that at all. I woke up Saturday morning with a text from my sister asking me for my guacamole recipe. Then she added, “You should post that on your blog.”  I told her I thought about that earlier this week, and that today I was planning on doing just that. She then said…”You know, for Cinco De Mayo and all…” Well, I didn’t think of that part.  She always was a little quicker than me.  To top it off, when I went food shopping for my dip ingredients, Waldbaums was also one step ahead of me, because all of the guacamole ingredients were put on display together, right when you enter the freakin place. Avocados, tomatoes, cilantro…they even included guacamole seasoning packets…if you’re into that sorta thing. (And an added bonus – avocados are usually on sale when it’s around Cinco De Mayo, Superbowl, etc.)

With my sister, Gabby
With my sister, Gabby

Ingredients:

  • 6 Tbs chopped red onion (1/4 – 1/3 of an onion)
  • 2 Tbs chopped cilantro
  • 1 very finely chopped garlic clove
  • 1 1/2 Tbs lime juice
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 avocados
  • 1 large tomato (I used two small Roma tomatoes – you can never have too much tomato though!)

Steps:

  1. Chop the onion, cilantro, and garlic and add it to a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add in lime juice and spices – cumin, chili powder, salt and mix together.
  3. Halving the avocados, gently remove each pit by bringing a large knife down into it and twisting it out. Scoop avocados into the mixing bowl and blend.
  4. Chop the tomatoes and remove excess liquid – nobody likes soupy guacamole.
  5. Gently blend all ingredients and serve!

Note – Leaving an avocado pit in the dip helps it not to turn brown, so does pressing clear wrap directly onto the dip if you’re serving it later.

IMG_9107


Zesty Lemon & Basil Hummus –

IMG_9075

Hummus is so versatile because there are a million ways to make it. Basically, as long as you use a bean and some tahini, you’ve got yourself a kick ass dip. I love tahini, so sometimes I go a little overboard when I use it in a recipe. Luckily, my friend Siobhan and her crafty taste palate came over yesterday and tested my dips – she told me to use less tahini…so I did.

With Siobhan near Big Sur last summer
With Siobhan near Big Sur last summer on “No Pants Thursday”

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (15 oz) of chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 6 large basil leaves
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 3 Tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tbs tahini
  • 2 Tbs lemon juice (This is a lemony hummus, but you may want to try just one tablespoon if you don’t want to taste the lemon too much.)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Black pepper to taste

Steps:

  1. Add everything to a high speed blender or food processor and mix!

IMG_9085


Roasted Eggplant & Garlic Dip –

IMG_9093

Like hummus, this dip is very versatile and can also be spread across bread or added to salads and rice bowls; however, there are no beans in this recipe, making it a nice alternative.

IMG_9072

IMG_9098

Ingredients:

  • 1 eggplant
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 red onion
  • 2 carrots
  • 6 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil plus another 1 Tbs
  • 3 Tbs tahini
  • 2 large basil leaves
  • 3 Kalamata olives
  • 1 tsp Kalamata juice
  • 1 Tbs tomato paste
  • 1 Tbs lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • salt & pepper to taste

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Cut the eggplant, pepper, onion, and carrots into two inch pieces and toss into a large pan.
  2. Peel 6 large cloves of garlic and add them to the pan, whole.
  3. Drizzle 1/4 cup of olive oil to the vegetables, along with salt and pepper. Toss.
  4. Cook for 50 minutes (After about 25 minutes, give a quick shake or stir to the vegetables.)
  5. Once cooked, let the vegetables cool off for 5-10 minutes. Afterwards, add all vegetables to a high speed blender or food processor, along with the rest of the ingredients – 1 Tbs of olive oil, as well as the tahini, basil leaves, olives and olive juice, tomato paste, lemon juice, cumin, salt and pepper.
  6. Blend and devour!

IMG_9112

IMG_9117

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

1 thought on “Party Favorite Dips! (Guacamole * Zesty Lemon & Basil Hummus * Roasted Eggplant & Garlic Dip)”

Leave a Comment

