Super Quick Chickpea Salad with Mom’s Roasted Rosemary Potatoes

This chickpea salad could not be easier to make; it requires 5 minutes of your time, tops – and it’s loaded with protein and healthy fats. I used to really enjoy making egg salad and tuna fish sandwiches, so when I concocted this guy up, I was pretty stoked : )

 IMG_9180

Unlike other dishes I make that require soaking, roasting then pureeing, etc, this salad is perfect for when you’re in a pinch – and it only needs just a few ingredients for it to work (I added a couple of extras since I had them on hand, like celery and onion).

IMG_9186

The texture is just that of egg salad, but without the added hormones and animal mistreatment. It could also be used as a dip, because who doesn’t love to submerge veggie sticks, pretzels, and pita bread into creaminess heaven?

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 1 1/2 Tbs vegan mayo (I prefer vegenaise)
  • 1 Tbsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • Splash of pickle juice (optional)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Steps:

  1. In a medium size bowl, mash the chickpeas with a fork.
  2. Add in all other ingredients and mix. Couldn’t be easier, right?! (Scroll down for Mom’s Roasted Rosemary Potato Recipe.)

IMG_9188

My mom is an amazing cook, and she’s been making these potatoes for as long as I can remember. My sister and I are going to visit her this weekend and I can’t wait – the last time I saw her was at the end of December.

Me, my mom, and my sister during our last visit in December.
Me, my mom, and my sister during our last visit in December.

Mom’s Roasted Rosemary Potatoes 

Ingredients:

  • 5 yukon gold or russet potatoes
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste

IMG_9175

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Scrub the potatoes and cut them into sixteenths or twentieths, depending on the size of the potato. (See above picture.) Put in a large pan.
  3. Cut the onion into eighths and add to the pan.
  4. Drizzle 1/4 cup olive oil on top, and then add the rosemary and salt. Mix together with your hands.
  5. Cook for 50-55 minutes and then turn the broiler on high for 2-3 minutes to get extra crispy. I like to dip them in spicy mustard – enjoy!
Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

9 thoughts on “Super Quick Chickpea Salad with Mom’s Roasted Rosemary Potatoes”

  1. Egg salad sandwiches are one of the things I’ve missed since becoming vegan. My mom used to make them for me all the time when I was a kid. And roasted potatoes, yum 🙂 I will definitely try this! –Erin @ OneJoyfulMorning

    Like

    1. Ooh, that’s a great point. I did some research for you, but so far I only have found recipes that call for soy milk or silken tofu, which are not my first choices for ingredients. Here is an article I came across that I liked about soy products/tofu http://www.marksdailyapple.com/10-things-to-know-about-tofu/#axzz32HOv8NSA. Give me some time and I’ll try to come up with a recipe for you! In the meantime, google search around for homemade vegan mayo to see what you can come up with! Thanks for giving me food for thought!

      Like

Leave a Comment

