Blueberry Banana Granola Cups

IMG_9542

One thing I’ve learned from baking vegan desserts is that less is more. When I used to bake “conventional” desserts, I’d think nothing of adding more sugar, butter, or whatever because, “It’s dessert” and it’s supposed to be bad for you. Well, thanks to my blogging community and my love of testing out different recipes, I’ve learned that nothing is further from the truth. Before I actually put these luscious cups together, I was thinking about how I would bake them. I thought maybe I’d put coconut sugar atop the banana and let it caramelize underneath the broiler. Or maybe blend the fruit with maple syrup or coconut yogurt for a dynamite filling. But after test tasting these, guess what? The filling didn’t need any extras like sugar, syrup, or yogurt.

IMG_9541

Another thing I’m learning during my vegan journey is that because so many foods can be deliciously and naturally nutritious, there’s no distinction between breakfast and dessert! Well, these fruit cups are certainly no exception. The oats and nuts are loaded with fiber, protein, and healthy fats, making it a substantial and nourishing breakfast, and the sweet fruit filling make for one hell of a dessert.

IMG_9543

Ingredients (makes about 12 cups):

  • 1 1/2 cups quick oats (use 1 1/4 cups for a thinner, but less substantial crust)
  • 1 1/2 cups walnuts
  • 3 Tbsp melted extra virgin coconut oil
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • about 3-4 shakes of cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 ripened bananas
  • about 1/2 cup blueberries

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a blender/food processor, combine the oats and walnuts. Blend until you have a powder.
  3. Pour the blended mixture into a large bowl and add the maple syrup, melted coconut oil, cinnamon and salt.
  4. In a greased cupcake pan, fill each cupcake pan about halfway.
  5. With your fingers, press the mixture so that it is even on the bottom and the sides. The oats will expand a bit while baking.
  6. Place in the oven and cook for 15 minutes.
  7. While the crust is baking, mash up 2 bananas with a fork.
  8. After the 15 minutes, remove the crusted cups and add the banana filling, placing blueberries atop bananas.
  9. Cover with foil and place back in the oven for 20 minutes. Enjoy…for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert!

no one is in charge of your happiness

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

6 thoughts on “Blueberry Banana Granola Cups”

Leave a Comment

