Sauteed Chickpeas & Onions

IMG_9655

I was testing out a recipe for a vegan bean burger (which I’ll share this week!) and I started craving chickpeas. So while I was waiting on some of the ingredients for the burgers to cook, I quickly sauteed chickpeas in some olive oil, yellow onion, and spices. It’s always nice to have extra beans on hand for moments like this, and I usually have at least a dozen cans at a time. Yes, I used to only use dry beans, but in this hectic world, I just don’t have time to soak beans overnight each time I plan on using them, which is all the time. This is a snack I’ve been making forever, changing up the spices depending on my mood, and I thought I should share this since it’s healthy, speedy, and nearly effortless.

IMG_9658

I kept this chickpea recipe very simple, but it would also taste amazingly mixed with kale and tomatoes, as a salad topping, or combined with pasta. I, however, was simply in the mood for chickpeas with a little kick. While I was in my backyard photographing this latest balanced bella concoction, I picked a basil leaf off one of my plants as a garnish. The plants are still in their early-ish stages, but they’re really beginning to bloom!

IMG_9660

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/3 c. chopped yellow onion (about 1/2 small onion)
  • 1 can (15 oz.) chickpeas, rinsed
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • basil for garnish (optional)

Steps:

  1. Place olive oil in pan on medium/high heat.
  2. Add onions and stir, cooking for about 3 minutes.
  3. Mix in the chickpeas, salt, red and black pepper. Enjoy!
Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

Leave a Comment

