Blueberry Walnut Pancakes

IMG_9768

Sometimes it takes me a couple of days to publish a blog post because I’m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to creating the recipe, “posing” my dish creations just right for photographing, and then actually writing the post. However, I’m too freakin’ excited about these pancakes that I needed to share them asap. Yes, food excites me that much. Understand now why I felt the need to start a food blog in the first place?

IMG_9752

I had every intention of making this recipe so that I could share it on my blog, but I didn’t think they’d come out as good as they did on the first attempt. And once Justin ate one and said they didn’t need any changes, I took the remaining two in my backyard to photograph.

IMG_9755

And because it’s a gorgeous beach day outside, I’ll make this post like I made my pancake stack, short and sweet. Because I’m always thinking of my little friend Charley Mae when I create recipes now, this can totally be gluten free if you use gluten free oats.

IMG_9750

Ingredients (makes about 4 pancakes)

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 chia egg*
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup blueberries (I used frozen)
  • 1/2 cup chopped raw walnuts
  • coconut oil or non-dairy butter for pan (I used Earth Balance)
  • maple syrup
  • (optional: additional blueberries and walnuts for topping)

* To make a chia egg, mix 1/4 cup of water and 1 Tbsp of chia seeds. Let it sit for about 10 minutes.

IMG_9747

Steps:

  1. Create the chia egg and set aside for 10 minutes.
  2. In a high speed blender/food processor, blend the oats and almonds until it makes a flour.
  3. Pour the oat/almond flour in a bowl and add all other ingredients except the blueberries.
  4. Gently mix in blueberries.
  5. On medium/low heat, melt oil or non-dairy butter.
  6. Cook each pancake for about 3 minutes on each side.
  7. Transfer to a plate and top with maple syrup!
Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

12 thoughts on “Blueberry Walnut Pancakes”

  1. these look and sound so delicious, i feel like the universe is telling me to have pancakes as this is the 3rd vegan pancake recipe i’ve seen today and with each picture, i’ve been craving pancakes just that extra bit more…

    Like

    1. Hi Lisa 🙂 Almond meal is just ground up almonds, so if you have about a cup of almonds and a high speed blender or food processor, you can just grind it up yourself. I do that sometimes, but for this recipe I actually just used store bought (Trader Joe’s) almond meal. If you don’t have almonds, any flour will do. Thanks for checkin out the pancake post! xo

      Like

  2. I love your site Jaime! Hope your enjoying the summer :). I’m gonna try to make the peanut butter granola next ;).

    Like

Leave a Comment

