DIY Pantry Shelf

IMG_9844Since I’m a huge homebody (typical Cancer…), I very much need my home to be aesthetically pleasing. I love collecting furniture pieces that are unique – I especially love when items have that vintage-y feel to it. Don’t get me wrong, I love shopping in places like Home Goods, but I often ask myself, “I can make that, am I really going to pay $150 for it?” Not likely.

IMG_9838I have so many potions and powders for my recipes, so I wanted to make a shelf in my kitchen where everything could go, since my windowsill was no longer cutting it. Along with these ‘recipe staples’ were some balanced bella dishes I use for photographing my meals which I wanted to store separately from my everyday dishes.

Hurricane Sandy took a lot from many people, including our beloved boardwalk. This winter, however, the boardwalk began washing up on our shores here on Rockaway Beach. I had given Justin a visual of what I wanted my shelf to look like, so when he spotted boardwalk wood resting on the sand after a tumultuous year and a half journey, he picked it up and brought it home. Luckily for me, he’s a high school teacher with a wood shop in his building and was able to take the wood to work, let it dry out for weeks, and then begin playing with it. So I suppose this is more of a DIY by Justin project, because truthfully all I did was order the shelf racks from Etsy! But shh. My point is, you may not have a wood shop, but any kind of base will do – my next shelf project is going to be a bunch of twigs tied with twine, resting on shelf racks. It’s all about thinking outside the box 😉

Rockaway Beach, NY boardwalk (pre-Hurricane Sandy)
Rockaway Beach, NY boardwalk (pre-Hurricane Sandy) Photo: flickr.com

After some research, the types of wood used were ipe, Cumaru and greenheart. I couldn’t believe how gorgeous these planks were once they were restored to their original state. As you’ll see in these pictures, the wood was dried out, glued together, planed down, given a plate groove, coated twice, and hung on specialty shelf racks ordered from etsy.com. It was quite the process and I smile every time I walk passed it… ❤

Once dried, wood glue was applied to the planks and held together with clamps.
Once dried, wood glue was applied to the planks and held together with clamps.
This was the product once it was cleaned up using a wood planer.
This was the product once it was cleaned up using a wood planer.
The finished product with two coats of polyurethane. I'm 5'11", so it's a little easier to tell how long (and heavy!) this piece is.
The finished product with two coats of polyurethane. I’m 5’11”, so it’s a little easier to tell how long (and heavy!) this piece is.

IMG_9811

IMG_9841

IMG_9830

IMG_9842

IMG_9837

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

2 thoughts on “DIY Pantry Shelf”

  1. Jaime I love this!!!! Came out great and love the idea of using the boardwalk planks. I’m so sad I didn’t take any from lb would love to have done something like this in my house!

    Like

Leave a Comment

