What Goes On Your Body…Goes In Your Body

harmful+chemicals+cosmetics

So of course I’ve heard about the chemicals and toxins in the products we use on our bodies – sunscreens, lotions, soaps, shampoos, shaving creams, toothpastes, etc., but I suppose I tried not to read too much about it because sometimes ignorance truly is bliss. What we don’t know can’t harm us. There’s already too much information regarding the crap that’s in our foods and pharmaceuticals, how much more propaganda overload can we take? That’s basically what I was thinking on a semi-conscious level, until I met up with a friend, and couldn’t deny the glaringly obvious truth anymore.

I ran into my friend Kristina on the beach the other day and she started telling me about the company she works for, Beautycounter, and their mission to get safe products into the hands of everyone. According to her company:

  • The United States has not passed a federal law to regulate the ingredients used in personal care products since 1938
  • Europe bans more than 1,300 ingredients found in products; the US has banned 11.
  • Chemicals linked to breast cancer, learning disabilities, infertility, among many others, are allowed in the products we use every day.

For the most part, I am pretty careful about the food that goes into my body, yet here I am dousing myself with ingredients like benzalkonium chloride and polyethylene glycol.  When you think about the skin as the body’s largest organ, it’s pretty insane what we’re using to feed and nourish it.

 Toxic-skin-care-ingredients-to-avoid

I fancied myself for using coconut oil as a moisturizer and products which are not tested on animals, but after doing just a little research, I realize now that I’ve still been poisoning my body with words I can’t pronounce from sunscreens, shampoos, and make-up to name a few.  Even more troubling, these toxins are passed onto fetuses in pregnant women. According to the Natural Resources Defense Council, “Many of the chemicals studied are known to be transferred to the fetus and have been linked to poor health outcomes, placing them at risk for birth defects or chronic illnesses later in life. Some of the chemicals detected — such as PCBs — have been banned for over 30 years. Click here to read their full article.

So what can you do? There are responsible companies out there who create products that are safer to use. Visit safecosmetics.org for more information. Products made in Europe may contain less toxic ingredients. Skin Deep Database is a website (and app) where you can check the toxicity of the ingredients in your products. Essential oils have many purposes and uses, from deodorizing to moisturizing. You can also visit Kristina’s website at kristinaegan.beautycounter.com to find out more about her company. And of course, just being aware and conscious of this is a major step to a better, healthier, smarter – you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

3 thoughts on “What Goes On Your Body…Goes In Your Body”

Leave a Comment

