Pumpkin Nut Raisin Bread

IMG_0590

Last time I went food shopping, I went a little pumpkin crazy and bought almost a dozen cans of pumpkin, so please do expect to find a few pumpkin recipes on here soon.  I’m thinking pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin cookies, and thanks to a picture Justin’s cousin Samantha posted the other day, pumpkin smoothies too!

IMG_0583

 

IMG_0598

There is something lovely and quaint about farmers’ markets and festivals where local, small businesses can display their crafts/skills and connect with the community. Whenever I travel, I always try to find at least one market where I can ogle over the displays and peruse the handmade soaps, custom jewelry, and of course, vegan delicacies. This past Wednesday, the Bungalow Bar (a local bar/restaurant/catering hall) held a fall festival where I had the opportunity to be a first-time vendor, and I LOVED it. I was totally in my element. I am not a good salesperson.  If I owned a clothing boutique, I would be the person to say, “Oh you’re totally right – that sweater makes you look huge.  There’s a store across the street that sells the most ADORABLE little sweaters, why don’t you go try one of them on?” But when I’m selling treats that I know taste unreal, coupled with the fact that they’re healthy and made of all natural ingredients, it’s hard for me not to gush over the products – because I truly believe in them, as was the case the other night. So, long story short, I had a great time and I will definitely be doing that again!

IMG_0562

I knew this pumpkin nut and raisin bread would turn out good, meaning it wouldn’t fall apart, because I adapted my banana nut bread recipe to create it. I included molasses since it adds a rich taste and a chewy texture. Because I don’t use brown sugar, (which is refined sugar and molasses), I thought this would be a nice substitute. Aaand, did I mention that it is totally oil free? Because of the pumpkin and apple sauce, this bread is incredibly moist (and sweet). There’s really no down side; it’s filling, delicious, and unbelievably healthy for you. Wrap this up in clear wrap and you have a beautiful gift to give somebody this holiday season! That’s a hint to all my family and friends – because this is what you’re getting – like it or not 😉

IMG_0597

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 2 cups canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • optional: Coconut Oil for greasing pan

IMG_0594

Steps:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a blender or food processor, combine all of the ingredients except the walnuts and raisins.

3. Once blended, scoop mixture into a large bowl and mix in walnuts and raisins.

4. Grease the bread pan (9 x 5 x 3) with coconut oil (or omit this step to make it completely free of oil). Pour in the batter and cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes. After 5-10 minutes, remove and place on a cooling rack.  Bon Appétit!

IMG_0595

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin Nut Raisin Bread”

    1. Why thank you : ) I agree! Zucchini bread is pretty rad too. And speaking of pumpkin, I’m about to eat coconut pumpkin rice for dinner lol. Thanks for stopping by – those oreo muffins you just posted look dynamite!

      Like

Leave a Comment

