Balanced Bag Lunch Recap

IMG_0799

We’ve just completed week 2 of balanced bag lunches and I couldn’t be happier. It’s been going very well and I’m slowly setting a system for myself. For example, during week 1, I came home from work and had about three hours to prepare the lunches before the pick-ups began. Making and baking the cookies took the longest amount of time, so this week I woke up a couple of hours earlier than I usually do to bake the cookies before work, then came home and did the cooking for the pick-ups. I like that half of my orders are from my co-workers (which I bring in with me the following morning), because if something goes wrong, i.e. not enough cookies, I have the rest of the night and the following morning to complete the orders. My favorite part is waking up around 4:45, making coffee, and having that peaceful, quiet time to myself to bake while my mind is clear. I think Roscoe likes it too because that means extra hang-out time before he’s left alone for the day.

My niece Mairead mixing her chocolate chip cookie ingredients this past weekend.
My niece Mairead mixing her chocolate chip cookie ingredients this past weekend.

IMG_0825IMG_0827

IMG_0838

IMG_0835

Next week I’ll be selling my balanced bella treats at the annual Belle Harbor Yacht Club’s Holiday Boutique on Thursday, December 4. I’m super excited about it as it’s only my second time being a vendor, but I won’t be making lunches that week because of all the time I’ll need to bake for the event.  BB lunches will resume the following week, and as usual, pick-ups will be Wednesday night (December 10), and I’ll be bringing in the lunches for my co-workers on Thursday morning (December 11). Hopefully I’ll see some of you at the BHYC’s Holiday Boutique where there will be over 30 local vendors selling their beautifully crafted work, such as Fancy Things by Nancy and End of the A, as well as raffles and live music. I’ll be selling packaged goods such as my double chocolate chip cookies, fudgey bean brownies, granola, plus a few new recipes which I haven’t shared yet. Doors open at 6pm!

 

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

Leave a Comment

