Buffalo Cauliflower and Creamy Dip

IMG_1055

These cauliflower nuggets have been on my recipe-to-do list for a year now, but many cauliflower heads have come and gone, none of them making the coveted buffalo cauliflower recipe. Even when I’d had all the ingredients, I’d still let the produce sit in the refrigerator until a) it became moldy, or b) I chopped it up halfheartedly and threw it in another recipe. I made it once last week just to get the recipe right, and it’s all I’ve been wanting to eat ever since – it’s awesome, and perfect for a healthy Superbowl snack. This cruciferous vegetable is jam packed with anti-inflammatory nutrients, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. It helps aid in digestion and detoxification. I’ll try to post other recipes like cauliflower crust and cauliflower mash soon enough!

IMG_1070

It’s been a whirlwind of a winter so far. First off, Justin and I got married! We’ve spent the last 4 1/2 years living together, and within that time my heart has been filled with happiness and fulfillment, so we made it official on December 24, 2014 ❤  On another note, the BB lunches are doing very well! I’m making a little over 30 lunches each week, so Wednesdays are quite hectic, yet very enjoyable. I really love making these lunches, and I definitely want to do them more than one day a week; however, being a fourth grade teacher and doing a drama club program after school for the junior high students, I simply don’t have extra time right now (but I’ll figure that out down the line).

Justin and me on our wedding day. Running in the rain in between courthouses. This selfie was the only picture we took <3
Justin and me on our wedding day. Running in the rain in between courthouses. This selfie was the only picture we took, and I couldn’t be more elated with it.

Ingredients:

Creamy Dip

  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 2 Tbsp vegenaise (or another thick, non-dairy substitute like vegan cream cheese or olive oil)
  • 1 Tbsp parsley, chopped
  • 1/8 cup almond milk
  • 2 tsp lime juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • generous pinch of salt

Buffalo Cauliflower

  • 1 cup brown rice flour (or any flour of your choice)
  • 1 Tbsp onion powder
  • 1 Tbsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 head of cauliflower (I didn’t use all of mine)
  • 2 Tbsp butter of your choice (I used Earth Balance)
  • 2/3 cup hot sauce

IMG_1047

Steps:

  1. Soak the cashews in water for at least 3 hours.  I wound up soaking mine for about 24 hours, unintentionally. Use enough water to, at least, cover the cashews; I used about 2 cups.
  2. In a food processor/high speed blender, blend all of the dip ingredients together.  I chopped the parsley before putting it in the blender to ensure a smooth overall texture. Set aside while preparing the cauliflower portion.
  3. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  4. In a medium sized bowl, add brown rice flour, onion powder, garlic powder, and salt. Mix.
  5. Next, add in water and stir well. This batter will be very dense.
  6. Rinse, dry, and cut cauliflower into bite size bits. Place each piece in the batter, coating evenly. Then place each piece on a baking sheet.
  7. Place the cauliflower in the oven for 15 minutes. During this time, prepare your buffalo sauce.
  8. In a small bowl, heat up the butter so it’s in liquid form.
  9. Then, add the hot sauce and mix well.
  10. When the cauliflower is ready, remove from the oven and dip each piece in the buffalo sauce (or use a brush to paint each piece with sauce).
  11. Place back in the oven for another 15 minutes. Serve immediately. Garnish with chives and celery or carrots and enjoy!

*This serves 1-2 people. If you’re planning on making this for a party, multiply the recipe as needed.

IMG_1052

 

 

 

 

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

1 thought on “Buffalo Cauliflower and Creamy Dip”

Leave a Comment

