Chocolate Almond Cheesecake Cups

IMG_1161

I had way too much fun photographing these guys because they’re just too cute! Perhaps they could have a more polished appearance, but I think that rugged, ‘rustic-ness’ is what gives them their charm. Or maybe that’s just what I tell myself…

IMG_1157

There are three layers, and I couldn’t decide what I wanted to add to each layer, so I kinda just played around with them. I wanted to add a fruity, jelly layer, but considering I was trying out a new chocolate recipe, I decided to hold off on trying to be too creative ;). Maybe I’ll play around with another recipe tomorrow since Mayor de Blasio just closed all of New York City’s public schools!!!

I made a similar crust when I created my raw cheesecake recipe, so I knew that this would work well, too. Likewise, the filling closely resembles the aforementioned recipe, in that they both include cashews, maple syrup, and coconut oil; however, there are a few (major) alterations that give this dessert a totally different flavor. I added two cups of shredded, unsweetened coconut, but it was the addition of the almond extract that gave it that extra zing!

IMG_1162

I tried making a chocolate frosting once to add to one of my pancake stacks, but I must’ve added too much of something, and not enough of something else, because the texture was off and so was the taste. This time around, however, the cacao and coconut oil gods were on my side, and it came out perfectly, and I couldn’t stop eating it. Even if you never make this recipe, seriously consider at least making the chocolate icing, because it takes about one minute, tastes better than any icing I’ve ever had, and is kind to your body. Oh, and by the way – if you minus the extracts, these miniature sized pieces of heaven are completely raw, too.

IMG_1151

Ingredients: (Makes about 18 dessert cups)

Filling

  • 2 cups raw cashews
  • 6 Tbsp coconut oil *
  • 5 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • optional: pinch of salt
  • optional: 2 cups shredded, unsweetened coconut

Crust

  • 10 Medjool dates, pits removed
  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 1 cup raw walnuts

Icing

  • 1 cup cacao powder
  • 3/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup

*I always use extra virgin coconut oil, especially when the recipe calls for it to remain in its raw state.

Soaked Cashews
Soaked Cashews
Filling
Filling
Cashew Filling with Coconut
Cashew Filling with Coconut
Date, Almond, and Walnut Mixture
Date, Almond, and Walnut Mixture
About 2 teaspoons of mixture pressed into each cup
About 2 teaspoons of mixture pressed into each cup

IMG_1135

Then add the cashew filling
Then add the cashew filling
Smooth, Creamy Icing
Smooth, Creamy Icing

Steps:

  1. Soak cashews for at least three hours. Like last time, my cashews were soaking for about 30 hours because I never got around to it when I thought I would. All the same.
  2. In a blender or food processor, mix all of the ingredients for the filling, except the coconut, together. The texture should be smooth and creamy.
  3. Pour the mixture into a bowl and add the coconut. Set aside and prepare your crust.
  4. Blend the dates, almonds, and walnuts in a blender/food processor.
  5. Use wax paper to line your baking dish for easy removal. I used cupcake tins, but a pie dish would work as well.
  6. Press about 1 1/2 – 2 teaspoons of the crust mixture into each cupcake holder. If using a pie dish, pour in the entire concoction. Press down using your fingers or a spoon.
  7. Pour in equal amounts of the filling. I used about 2 teaspoons of filling per cupcake holder. Press down using your fingers or a spoon.
  8. To prepare the icing, simply add all three ingredients in a medium sized bowl and whisk together. After about 30 seconds, the mixture thickens. Apply about 1 teaspoon onto each dessert cup and smooth out with a spoon.
  9. Place in freezer for at least one hour. I felt very accomplished after peeling back the wax paper and setting my eyes on those beauties! Enjoy ❤

IMG_1156

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Almond Cheesecake Cups”

  1. Pingback: balanced bella

Leave a Comment

