Fiesta Salad

IMG_1884

Well, it’s been a hot minute, but now that the summer is in full swing and I’m off from work for two months, I’m able to focus more of my attention to things I love, like this blog! Things are looking very optimistic over here: our boardwalk is coming back together after Sandy and it’s more gorgeous than ever; my mom is in town from Florida for the summer, so I get to spend more time with her; and the energy here in Rockaway is suffused with creativity and innovation.

IMG_1880I’ve been cooking up some delicious recipes in the balanced bella kitchen, and I’m looking forward to sharing them with you. I chose to blog about this fiesta salad because some of you may be attending a Fourth of July party and want to bring something that is sure to be a crowd pleaser. I’m all about versatility, and this dish can be eaten like a salad, as a dip, poured over rice, and as a side dish (even though I ate it by itself for dinner, so I suppose it’s a main dish as well…).

IMG_1897

Ingredients:

Dressing

  • 1/4 cup avocado oil (olive or vegetable oil could be used as a substitute)
  • 1/8 cup (2 Tbsp) red wine vinegar
  • 1/8 cup (2 Tbsp) lime juice
  • 1 Tbsp agave
  • 1/2 tsp cumin

Salad

  • 2 ears of corn
  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup chopped roasted red peppers
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 avocado
  • salt and pepper to taste

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Remove the husks and wrap in aluminum foil. (Some skip this step and bake the corn with the husks still on.) Bake the corn for 25 minutes.
  2. Combine all dressing ingredients and whisk together well.
  3. Once the corn is cooked, use a knife to shave off the corn kernels.
  4. Add the corn and the other salad ingredients to a large bowl. Since the beans and avocado are more delicate than the rest, I like to stir the other ingredients together first, then add the last two ingredients.
  5. Drizzle the dressing on top of the salad and mix well. Garnish with a lime wedge and cilantro. Enjoy!

IMG_1878

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

5 thoughts on “Fiesta Salad”

  1. I made something similar recently and served it over rice for one meal, over baked potatoes for another and over salad greens for another. I finally served the little bit of leftovers as a side salad. Don’t you love things like this that are really versatile?

    Like

Leave a Comment

