Chocolate Avocado Mousse

 IMG_1977

This post is for my student, Jake. I had such a sweet and amazing class this year, and Jake was certainly no exception. They all knew about my balanced bella blog, and some of them even started following my Instagram account. So, when Jake asked me to post my recipe for avocado frosting, I was all about it. Except…that was about two months ago, and I’ve been really slacking on the recipe front…

IMG_1971

This is perfect as a frosting – smeared on top of baked goods; however, it’s just as blissful to dip fruit into (or cookies, I’m not judging). If you’re making a layered cake, this will make a decadent mousse filling. Its consistency is similar to a buttercream frosting. Like most things I like to make…it’s quite versatile.

IMG_1985

All three ingredients are packed with nutrition. Avocados are loaded with vitamins, potassium (more so than a banana!), and fiber, helping to lower cholesterol and giving your skin that special glow. Cacao powder is said to be one of the healthiest foods on the planet. It contains enormous amounts of antioxidants, but it also possesses anti-depressant, mood-elevating properties such as serotonin and dopamine. And maple syrup, well, there’s a reason the “Master Cleanse” diet included maple syrup in each one of its drinks – there are many nutrients within this liquid such as riboflavin, zinc, magnesium, calcium and potassium which boost your mind and body (not to mention your immune system!).

So without further ado, I give you the easiest, creamiest, most decadent three ingredient frosting/mousse recipe you could ask for!

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe Hass avocado
  • 3 T cacao powder
  • 3 T maple syrup

Steps:

  1. Mash the avocado up with a fork, add the cacao powder and maple syrup, stir (well) and enjoy!
Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Avocado Mousse”

Leave a Comment

