Garlic Fries

IMG_2034

Well folks, it’s back to reality after 10 weeks of summer vacation. This was the first summer since 1998 where I didn’t lifeguard on the beach, so having a summer completely free was very…blissful. And honestly a little crazy. So the idea of a little structure back in my life isn’t exactly the worst thing to happen to me. Although I will miss watching Investigation Discovery for hours on end in the middle of the day, because I am a wee bit obsessed with that channel.  This structured life welcomes alarms, schedules, and planned dinners most nights. Get back to me in four weeks from now and perhaps I won’t sound so enthusiastically.

Road trip with my Roscoe :)
Road trip with my Roscoe 🙂

I have been roasting potatoes since I’ve learned how to use an oven. Soo, there really is no excuse why I haven’t thought of adding garlic to this recipe, because now that I have, they are the most outstanding fries I’ve ever eaten. Ever. I spent a day last week making these a few different ways to bring you the most perfected recipe, and what I found is that less is more. I’ve said that before and it’s the truth. I took some tidbits from some of my favorite cookbooks and chefs, but what I found was that it was unnecessary and tedious – unless you enjoy spending an hour dipping potato wedges into a garlic/oil mixture which only amounts to half a potato.

Cyclones game with my friend, Jen.
Cyclones game with my friend, Jen.

During my first attempt, I blanched the potato wedges in boiling water for a few minutes and then plunged them into ice water to stop the cooking process. Once dry, I dipped each one into a paste of oil, garlic powder, and salt; however, it was so thick that it was difficult to coat each fry, thereby taking a good three minutes to spread the paste onto each one. They tasted great, but the process was far too lengthy. After a couple of attempts, each tweaked a little here a little there, I came up with not just the easiest of the methods, but the most delicious as well!

Luau party with my friend and co-teacher, Teeny :)
Luau party with my friend and co-teacher, Teeny 🙂

Ingredients:

  • about 2 potatoes (russet or Yukon gold)
  • about 1 cup garlic powder
  • about 1/2 cup oil (I used avocado oil because it is a high heat oil – its properties don’t change when baking.)
  • salt to taste
  • optional: one bulb of garlic, minced

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Wash each potato but do not peel.
  3. Cut each potato into 1/8 to 1/4 inch wedges – start by cutting each potato in half horizontally, and then create wedges out of each half.
  4. Lay each piece on a baking sheet so that there is no overlapping. Use a spoon or other utensil to drizzle the oil onto each wedge. Then generously apply the garlic powder to each piece, coating each wedge entirely. If you love garlic like I do, you cannot put too much on. You should notice that the oil and powder should begin to form a paste. (This is why I found my first attempt at dipping them into a paste irrelevant.) Sprinkle salt over each piece, and lastly, sprinkle a generous pinch of minced garlic over the potatoes. (Note: The reason the minced garlic is optional is because the garlic powder gives more than enough flavor, but if you’re like me and you like a little extra texture/crunch, go ahead and add it. Plus, if you’re making these for a crowd, it’s aesthetically pleasing!)
  5. Flip each wedge over and repeat the process.
  6. Bake for about 10 minutes on each side. If you like them a little crunchy, put them under the broiler for 3-4 minutes, but do not forget about them! They can easily go from lightly browned to burnt in a matter of a minute.
  7. Serve with your favorite dipping sauce. Mine is my garlic aioli recipe.

IMG_2032

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

1 thought on “Garlic Fries”

Leave a Comment

