Sea Glass Crafts

IMG_2218

As I sit here, I’m watching HGTV’s Flip or Flop and it’s inspiring me to want to organize, decorate, and remodel. Justin and I will (hopefully) be moving soon to a house around the corner, so in the meantime, I will have to pour my creative energy into small, DIY projects which I can use to decorate our new house! This latest project was inspired by a local shop’s inventory, but for a very hefty price tag. One of the many benefits of living on the beach is the unlimited supply of sea glass that washes up on the shore. I have an extensive collection and keep it in a large vase in front of a window where the sun shines right through it. Also, our love of traveling has also added to my eclectic shell collection (which sits in a plastic bag in a dark cabinet…).

IMG_2215

This is just the first of many sea glass projects I have in store for myself. Just take a quick look on Pinterest and you’ll be inspired for days. Next, I’m looking to create a distressed wooden mermaid with a  sea glass tail, but that’s for a later date!  All you need is a picture frame with its glass window, a hot glue gun (or another sort of super glue), sea glass, and whatever else you have on hand.

IMG_2225

Barbados September '15
Barbados September ’15

Fitting the pieces together took the longest amount of time, but it was a beautiful feeling when it was finished. This is my idea of meditation : )

IMG_2242

IMG_2238

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

Leave a Comment

