Pumpkin Nut and Date Muffins

img_2956

With the fall season upon us, it’s not just a time to whip out all things pumpkin (pumpkin pie spice potato chips? Yes, it’s a thing. It’s not my thing, but it’s a thing), but it’s also time for local fall/holiday shopping events and I like to have new and delicious things on the menu. This recipe is (very) loosely based on my pumpkin nut raisin bread recipe. The beauty of this muffin is that it can connect to many. The pumpkin lovers and the pumpkin not-so-muchers. The pumpkin in this muffin is not very detectable, but what it does do is add a lot of moisture. These are extremely hearty and a little goes a long way. Not to mention, it’s a superfood powerhouse – loaded with fiber, protein, calcium, omega-3’s, vitamin A, beta-carotene, vitamin C, and potassium. I usually have leftover pumpkin because I use large cans, so Roscoe my Rottie mix is treated to a colorful and healthy dinner as well. For those of you who live locally and do not feel like making an entire batch of these, I definitely intend on making these at future events!

img_2930

img_2936

Ingredients (Makes 12 muffins):

  • 3 cups oats
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 Tbsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of nutmeg (I used less than 1/4 tsp)
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree (canned pumpkin)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup dates, chopped (optional)
  • 1 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)
  • Oil for greasing

img_2965

Steps:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Mix the oats in a blender until they resemble flour.
  • Add the oat flour, baking soda, baking powder, chia seeds, cinnamon and nutmeg to a medium sized bowl and stir.
  • Combine the pumpkin, maple syrup, brown sugar, and vanilla extract into a large bowl and stir well.
  • Pour the dry ingredients into the large bowl with the wet ingredients and stir until mixed together.
  • Add the optional dates and walnuts, removing all the pits if your dates are not pitted.
  • Grease a standard 12 cup muffin tray (I used coconut oil).
  • Pour the batter to the top of each cup.
  • Bake for 30-35 minutes. Let them sit for a few minutes before removing them.
  • Enjoy!

img_2927

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Nut and Date Muffins”

  1. These look fantastic! I can’t get canned pumpkin in my part of the world (Australia) so I wonder if I could just use steamed pumpkin that I puree. What do you think? margaret

    Like

    1. Hey Margaret. Absolutely since the only ingredient in the canned pumpkin is pumpkin pureed. The only difference is yours will be a lot fresher! If you do try these, I love toasting them and putting on a little butter (Earth Balance). So good!

      Like

      1. Made them this afternoon after work. Really delicious. Thanks so much for sharing. Looking forward to toasting them for my breakfast tomorrow! margaret

        Like

Leave a Comment

