Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Balls

img_2983

Having taken the year off from work to be with my little guy, visions of sugar plums and recipe tastings danced in my head. However, I’m lucky if I remember to make dinner. Period. Every day is filled with craziness and I have no idea where the hours go, and I absolutely love it. So those moments when I am able to make something new for my blog (and photograph it!) is just icing on the cake. I just sat down after a crazy day of making to-go lunches, playing with my 4 1/2 month old little dude, and having my upstairs gutted, and I gave myself two choices…work on that blog post that I started 3 days ago or continue reading that awesome book that came yesterday (I think I’m on page 2). Cleaning was off the table since that is the reason I never take naps when Oliver does. So I decided to treat myself tonight. By the way, the book is In the Company of Women by Grace Bonney and it’s quite inspirational. Anyway, I digress… I’m going to continue writing this blog post even though I’m half expecting Mr. Oliver to wake up any minute since he wakes up All. The. Time. He’s lucky he’s adorable. Everyone asks me if he’s a good boy. I tell them he’s the best. The sweetest. The most precious. Then they say…He’s a good sleeper? And I reply, Oh no, he’s the worst. I was going to wait until the 6 month mark to begin introducing foods for reasons I’ve only read about; however, I’m second guessing that in hopes that (perhaps) he’ll sleep better. (Some swear by it; some say it doesn’t work. Your thoughts? Comment below please!) I realize that most of my posts lately have been about motherhood, but it’s tough not to write about it since it consumes my every waking moment…and I wouldn’t have it any other way! Okay, onto the recipe.

img_2982

These energy balls are really, really good. I’ve made others before, like these and I’ve eaten plenty from other establishments, but these…they’re legit. I had Teeny, my trusted food taster come over and taste a couple. She’s an energy ball aficionado and she had no suggestions, so let’s take her word for it.

img_2985

Ingredients (Makes about a dozen):

  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 4 Tbsp cacao powder
  • 3 Tbsp salted peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup dates, super packed
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries (optional)

Steps:

  • Add the almonds to a blender and mix until the pieces are very small. (Larger pieces will make it tougher to form balls.) You don’t want to blend it too much so that all the almonds are made into a flour (a little crunch is needed), but there will be a bit of flour – that’s expected.
  • Add all other ingredients and blend. You may need to stop a few times to press the mixture down and continue blending. Continue until the mixture is completely blended together.
  • Form into balls – mine were about the size of munchkins. Store in a sealed container in the refrigerator. Best served cold. Enjoy!

img_2971

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Balls”

  1. Awww you are so cute and such a good mommy!! Love your blog posts ❤️ And I say give that baby some cereal and fill his belly so you can all get some sleep!!! 😀Xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

