Apple Pie Granola

img_3011

This granola came to me in a dream the other night. Randomly, I’ll wake up with an answer to a question I’ve had or a new idea to use in the classroom. This time, however, it was an idea for granola using dried apples. I used my peanut butter granola recipe as a starting point, since it’s pretty popular and people seem to enjoy it. My mother, who has never been a fan of anything granola-related thoroughly enjoyed this granola. And when I asked her if I should try it again with apple butter or apple extract, she said No, it’s perfect! Not too sweet, not too crunchy, just right. So I took my granola-born-again mother’s word for it.

img_2990

Ingredients (makes about 4 cups, cooked):

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 3 Tbsp almond butter
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped dried apples

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a high speed blender/food processor, blend the oats and almonds until they almost form a flour. (Leave some of the almonds a little chunkier.)
  3. Transfer mixture to a medium sized bowl and add all other ingredients, mashing with a fork in order to evenly distribute the almond butter, syrup, and oil.
  4. Place in a large pan so the mixture is in one shallow layer.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes. During cooling, about 10-15 minutes, let it sit without stirring it. This will create those beloved granola nuggets/globs.

What’s your favorite way to eat granola?

img_2999

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

2 thoughts on “Apple Pie Granola”

Leave a Comment

