Coconut Curried Cauliflower with Cashews and Chickpeas

img_3155

This dish is quite easy to make and takes about 20 minutes total. I had put it on the menu for last week’s lunches. (For those of you who don’t know, I make lunches for people to order – which have now become more like dinners – to local people in my town every Tuesday night and post the menu on my Instagram and Facebook page.) And although I had envisioned exactly how this dish would look and taste, I hadn’t actually made the dish yet, like ever. So the night before I was going to make my weekly meals, I gave it a go in the kitchen and it turned out perfectly. I was pretty surprised that it only needed the few ingredients that it does.

img_3147

While we’re on the topic of my weekly meals, I’d like to mention that it’s going pretty well. I changed it up a couple of weeks ago by increasing the price, but also now I’m being able to increase the creativity and versatility in each week’s little cardboard box. So all in all, it’s been a lot of fun. (Side note: I’m currently soaking chickpeas for falafels, another dish that I’ve never created but have always wanted to. If the falafels turn out well, I plan on making them again for next week’s menu!)

Ingredients:

  • Couple of tablespoons of oil for sauteing
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced (about 1 tsp)
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 1/2 tsp grated ginger
  • 2 Tbsp curry powder
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 1 head of cauliflower (about 4 1/2 cups of florets)
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup of raw, unsalted cashews

Steps:

  1. On medium high heat, add the oil to the pan. When the oil is hot enough, add the chopped onion and saute for a few minutes, until translucent.
  2. Add the minced garlic and stir. After about 30 seconds, add the coconut milk, ginger, curry powder, salt, and pepper. Stir well. Then add the cauliflower and chickpeas and stir until they are coated.
  3. Lower the heat to low, cover, and cook for about 15 minutes or until cauliflower is soft. Add the cashews, stir, and serve! Best served with rice or potatoes. Garnish with parsley.

img_3153

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

Leave a Comment

