Chocolate Chip & Pecan Cookies

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Of all the cookies, chocolate chip with pecan is my favorite. I really, really love them. When I was a kid, my dream job was working at The Cookie House, a store in the mall that’s still there today. I would order three dollars worth of cookies and eat them while I shopped. Come to think of it, my friends did most of the shopping. I think I just went for the cookies.

So clearly my love of cookies is nothing new. At any given point, there’s usually at least one kind of cookie sitting in a container on my counter. Usually they’re the extras from baking for other people, but when I’m doing the baking for myself, I always make chocolate chip with pecan cookies. Always.

Along with the black bean brownie recipe that I shared last week, I’ve been making this recipe for a few years now. This is the recipe I use when I sell these cookies at festivals and on my online bakery. So why share the recipe now? Well, the thing is…they’re really good. And what’s the point of keeping the recipe to myself if only those whom I’m baking for can taste them?

Ingredients (makes 9 2-oz cookies)

  • 2 cups oats, ground
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup raw sugar*
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • generous pinch (1/4 tsp) salt
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I like enjoy life brand)
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped (walnuts work too, and of course you can leave the nuts out entirely)

*If the sugar is coarse, you may want to add it to the blender with the oats to break down a little. I use finely granulated raw sugar.)

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large pot on simmer/very low heat, add the coconut oil. (If your coconut oil is already in the liquid state, omit this step.)
  3. While the oil is slowly melting, in a high speed blender blend 2 cups of oats until a powdery flour forms.
  4. Once the coconut oil is melted, turn off the heat. Add the sugar, maple syrup, vanilla, and salt to the pot with the coconut oil and mix.
  5. Add the blended oats (now a powder) to the pot, and then finally the chocolate chips and nuts. Mix well. (Note: I like adding all the ingredients to the warm pot because it melts the chocolate chips and the cookies have chocolate swirled throughout. If you would rather keep the chocolate chips in tact, simply pour the coconut oil into a bowl along with all the other ingredients.)
  6. Using a round 1/4 measuring cup (not necessary but useful), pack the batter into the cup and then place onto a cookie sheet (no need to spray or grease it). Flatten each cookie with your hand. Bake for 15-16 minutes. Remove and let cool for 15 minutes. This will help the cookies to set. Makes 9.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Author: Balanced Bella

Hi, I'm Jaime and I am the recipe tester, photographer, and writer at balanced bella! All my recipes are vegan, gluten free, and 100% delicious!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip & Pecan Cookies”

  1. I love pecans! My mom used a buy a big grocery bag full of cracked pecans and we would shell them ourselves. Now they are so expensive I don’t buy them as often as I would like, but I do prefer the taste over walnuts.

    Like

Leave a Comment

